The Democracy Scorecard

IN 1970, JOHN W. GARDNER, a Republican whose sense of duty to country over party led him to serve in the cabinet in the administration of a Democratic president, had a simple but powerful idea: citizens engaged in the democratic process can make a difference. “We want public officials to have literally millions of American citizens looking over their shoulders at every move they make,” Gardner wrote. “We want phones to ring in Washington and state capitols and town halls. We want people watching and influencing every move that government makes.”

Gardner’s letter launched Common Cause; his idea continues to animate our work, including this 2018 Democracy Scorecard. This Scorecard is geared to help amplify the voices of everyday Americans who have been silenced by big money in politics, voter suppression tactics, and other schemes to block people from participating in our democracy. Common Cause’s 2018 Democracy Scorecard reflects a commitment to ensuring that all Americans’ voices can be heard in our government and that everyone plays by the same set of common sense rules. The Scorecard provides data on every current member of Congress based on their sponsorship or cosponsorship of key democracy reform bills that Common Cause and our 1.2 million members support.

José Serrano 
Diane Black 
David Rouzer 
David McKinley 
Susan Brooks 
Kevin Yoder 
Mike Bost 
Marcia Fudge 
Brian Babin 
Pete Sessions 
Alma Adams 
Thomas Garrett 
Walter Jones 
Sander Levin 
Mark DeSaulnier 
Tom MacArthur 
Frederica Wilson 
Cedric Richmond 
Jimmy Panetta 
Jim Cooper 
Anna Eshoo 
Debbie Lesko 
Will Hurd 
Bennie Thompson 
Blaine Luetkemeyer 
Martha McSally 
Raul Ruiz 
Josh Gottheimer 
Eddie Bernice Johnson 
Brad Schneider 
Tom O’Halleran 
Bruce Westerman 
Dan Kildee 
Paul Cook 
Donald Norcross 
Chellie Pingree 
Keith Rothfus 
Virginia Foxx 
Joaquin Castro 
Terri Sewell